By now lots of people have heard that the Higgs field/particle has seemingly been discovered.  I’m skeptical about the efficacy of all our various institutions, including scientific ones, but this seems like a truly historic and amazing achievement.  But it’s so abstract, and requires knowledge of so many things, that how many people in the world can even understand this?  I’m not one of them.  All I have in my head is, the Standard Model of subatomic physics somehow predicts the existence of this massive particle (really massive, maybe 1000x heavier than a proton); and they went out and built a big-ass machine to find it.  And they found it.  Goddamn… good job dudes & dames!

Update

Woit confirms what you would figure: it’s the biggest physics discovery in ages. He says it’s the biggest in 30 years, since the discovery of the W and Z bosons. Well, I guess you would want that kind of vindication for all the time and resources that went into the LHC project.

